Rotorua Marathon 2020

Posted by Super User
Hits: 2038

The Energy Events Centre was buzzing  ..

.... for the start of Athletics New Zealand's 2020 Rotorua Marathon. The pleasure in being able to run competitively again in public competition after the Covid changes, was kept in perspective with the knowledge the event was missing many local and overseas runners because of remaining Covid restrictions.

There was serious competition for the age group rankings, with the battle for line honours a tussle between Michael Voss and Blair McWhirter. To the delight of the local crowd Michael Voss held on to become the first local winner of the Marathon since Jack Foster in 1975.

Alice Mason took female line honours claiming a hat-trick of Rotorua Marathon titles, with a tight contest for second between Mel Aitken and Ingrid Cree.

Full results are here.